HomeBlogMy WorksContact

Introducing Tree Mind Map

08 December, 2019 - 2 min read

TreeMindMap is my favorite hobby project on which I dedicate most of my holidays. Originally I started coding just to learn front-end programming like React, but I found my artifact (and React) was quite nice beyond my expectation for a learning material.

Concepts

There have already been many mind mapping tools, but what differentiates my tool from others is the concept of
simple interaction
,
tree layout
and
extensibility
.

Simple interaction

Many mind mapping tools have too many features, and sometimes they force us to interact too much because they are made as graphic tools in many cases. For example, you need to click a menu, select 'Add node' button, and click the node to focus, and start typing. With TreeMindMap you can create mind map just by hitting ENTER OR TAB.

Tree layout

Also, I don't know why but many mind mapping tools root node starts from center of the screen. Laptop screen size is limited, so it's hard to find a node if the mind maps get bigger. TreeMindMap's root node starts from top-left, and increasing only toward right or down.

Extensibility

Mind map is great tool to generate or visualize your idea, but it just reflects the state of your brain. You have to convert them on the form of table (for example using Excel) or document (for example using Word) I wanted to automate this step. So I implemented some codes that convert your mind map to some other format like documents.

Sample

Here is a sample!

Options to use my software

Currently you have three options to use my software Web application
Linux application via SnapCraft
Windows Store application

Contributing

It is developed as an OSS and you can see my code on Github.
🧐 Tips
*bold* ```code``` h1.header h2.header h3.header h4.header h5.header h6.header rb(undefined) img(undefined) https://undefined